Don't Say A Word, Mamá

Don't Say A Word, Mamá

$10.00

Mamá says she has the best daughters in the world. The two women live near their mother—Rosa with her husband and children, Blanca by herself. They both have flourishing gardens. Rosa and Blanca are so generous and kind and thoughtful—well, everyone, including Mamá, ends up with too much corn, tomatoes, and red hot chiles! It's crazy! It's also Joe Hayes at his finest, telling one of those stories young kids love, full of mishaps, surprise endings, and happy mommas! In fact, one seven-year old—after hearing Joe tell Don't Say a Word, Mamá!—came home and told her mother, "I heard a story today that I think changed my life!" That's a pretty fantastic endorsement!

2014 Honor Book, Patterson Prize for Books for Young People

Illustrator: Esau Andrade Valencia comes from a family of folk artists. He is increasingly being recognized as a master artist in the tradition of Diego Rivera and Rufino Tamayo. His paintings are included in the collection of the Museum of Latin American Art in Long Beach, California, as well as in the Downey Museum of Art in Downey, California.

Author: Joe Hayes
Age Range: 4 - 8 years
Grade Level: Preschool - 3
Paperback: 32 pages
Product Dimensions: 0.2 x 8.5 x 11 inches